Join the best erotica focused adult social network now
Login

Write what you know VS Experimentation and the great unknown?

last reply
14 replies
1.6k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Active Ink Slinger
0 likes
Right basically do you think it's better to confine yourself to writing what you know as that will probably be the strongest of your work? Or do you find that you can write about things you have no experience with. Granted confining yourself to what is known forbids genres such as Fantasy, Sci-Fi, period (as in time) pieces et cetera. Where do you think the line is? Can a person write competently from the perspective they have no experience with?

Reason I ask, is I'm hesitant about tackling an idea that I have zero experience with. I've found that I'm best when I'm writing characters similar to either me, or people I know well. Do you find it difficult to write about a foreign experience.

Granted I'm asking about a dozen questions that only bear passing resemblance to one another. What the questions I guess I'm trying to ask boil down to: Do you find it difficult to write about experiences completely unfamiliar to you, and do you think it is possible to have the same level of quality when compared to something more familiar.
And I've only begun fucking with you people.
At the end of the day, it's all math.
Active Ink Slinger
0 likes
It's entirely possible I posted this in the wrong section.
And I've only begun fucking with you people.
At the end of the day, it's all math.
Active Ink Slinger
0 likes
I would say, write where ever your creativity takes you. If you don't have experience, research and or read others work on a similar topic. Write who you want the charcter to be, even if it's yourself.
Rainbow Warrior
0 likes