The Quality of Stories and Poems

last reply
53 replies
4.9k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Lurker
0 likes
As a scientist I have been wondering about how one might measure the quality of a story or poem.

There seem to be only four criteria:
1. Number of reads - quantitative
2. Number of scores - quantitative
3. Average score - quantitative
4. Comments - qualitative

To maintain the high quality of Lush, it might be that stories and poems should be removed after a decent interval of time, say 9 months if they failed any of these criteria:
1. Fewer than 3,000 reads for a story or 100 reads for a poem
2. Fewer than 30 scores for a story or 10 scores for a poem
3. Average score below 4

Another suggestion could be that there should be two ways of scoring each story or poem:
1. Quality of the writing
2. Level of eroticism

I realise that if a quality control system were imposed most of my stories and poems would be removed, which might be a reflection of their quality, but I would still be interested in other authors views on this topic.
Lurker
0 likes
I have to disagree with you. Some of the very best work (IMO) was written long ago..and I don't think they come on anymore, like Donato.

I'm sure that there are high standards in place already.

this is a bit insulting to the mods and the writers. you didn't piss me off but I can understand how the others feel.

I think your experiment failed.

hugs Will.

Testing The Waters.
0 likes
There are only the loosest of grammar controls present on any of the other free erotica sites out there. Lush already has the strongest quality control system there is, and undoubtedly the strongest anti-plagiarism system of any other site. Lush is the only one I know of that regularly stops such stories before they see publication.

Asking for anything more from a free site ( at least as far as posting/reading stories are concerned ) is asking a lot.