Join the best erotica focused adult social network now
Login

Do BDSM stories have to be about the 'ideal dom' to be well received?

last reply
8 replies
1.2k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Lurker
0 likes
I've been working on a plot for a BDSM story (trying to be realistic) and one thing that strikes me as being highly realistic is a dom who hasn't quite figured everything out yet - and makes mistakes / issues.

However, when I ran it by a friend who lives as a Submissive, she criticized his lack of perfection and didn't like the idea. She used 50 Shades of Grey as an example of how a story is written about an imperfect dom - and Christian is an asshole for it, and there's nothing redeemable about him. Basically: she doesn't like the imperfect dom in her erotica.

But - to me it's real, and i bet you more doms are 'imperfect' rather than 'perfect' in real life. So I'm sticking with it.

Thoughts?
0 likes
I'm fairly new in BDSM in my real life- only a few years. I did not care for the "Fifty Shades of Grey" take either, and I may have much the same feelings about it. I do not want to read erotica about an imperfect Dom either who is learning the ropes. It does not appeal to me. What appeals in a Dom, (especially if you are in that relationship) is someone who is "together" and someone who is not a jerk (for my tastes). Even without prior knowledge and in the process of learning, I found my partner to be remarkably skilled and adept at picking it up without the mistakes or awkwardness that might be a turn-off or unpleasant. It is not what this sub wants to see. I think we want to see someone who is capable and able, who is in control and in command of themselves, and that extends to stories for me as well.

I applaud your willingness to step into more unconventional and challenging areas ( as I have seen some other posts on a different topic by you regarding future writing ideas) and the desire for elements of realism. I DO appreciate that in what I read.