Login

Why do you vote on a story?

last reply
76 replies
8.9k views
0 watchers
0 likes
0 likes
Hey Lush, I have a question for you as an author.

As an author, I would never directly question a friend or stranger's vote on my story, but I received a comment lately that got me thinking. Is it appropriate to vote down a story simply because you don't like the style the author chose to write in? The member who left me the note said that they don't enjoy the style of poem I wrote, but that it's an excellent example of that style, yet still voted down. It's no problem to me if somebody doesn't like it, but if they think that it's GOOD, but not their cup of tea, is that really a reason for a negative review?

I'm also interested to ask readers why the vote on a story at all. What earns a positive or negative review? How much do you think about the score you're giving?

I asked myself all these questions regarding the stories and poems that I score as well. I really don't want anybody to think that I'm upset about my average score - I'm not, I'm very pleased. That commentary just made me think, and now I'm curious...
Recommended Reads by TheScheherezadeFeint:
Undeniable - Erotic Poem
Disappearing Act - Love Poem
Synthetic Hours - Fantasy/Sci-fi - Eighth Place, 'Some Like It Hot' competition, January 2015
Night Work - Erotic Poem
Eating Breakfast In Glass Slippers - Straight Sex - Fifth Place, 'The Morning After The Night Before' competition, November 2014
Miracle of Night - Love Poem
The Brightest Black You've Ever Seen - Love Story - Ninth place, 'Toy With Me' competition, September 2014
Scream Fire - Erotic Poem - Audio read by MadameMolly
At First Sight (He) - Quickie Sex
Active Ink Slinger
0 likes
Quote by WhiteQueensKnight
Hey Lush, I have a question for you as an author.