From dating to relationship

last reply
11 replies
2.0k views
0 watchers
0 likes
Lurker
0 likes
Ok I'm new to the whole dating thing. Just got out of 5yr long relationship few months ago. We got together year after I finished school and ended up having a baby and staying together and so on and so forth... Ok so my problem is, I've been seeing a guy, we have been on a 2 dates but were talking and flirting and what not for bout a month before the first date. I really like him and I hope he likes me but the problem I have is, how does it go from going on dates to 'being in a relationship'. Is it just when one of us asks the other to be bf/gf?? I'm completely confused by the whole thing lol so any advice is much appreciated smile

Sorry if I sound like a complete idiot btw
Alpha Blonde
0 likes
Well, right now you're in a casual relationship - flirting, a couple of dates etc.

You will need to have the 'exclusivity' talk before you can assume commitment.

I think it's way too early in the game for that though. Not sure if you've been intimate yet etc, but I'd wait until you're spending the majority of your weekends together (days and nights) and seeing each other a few times a week before you bring that up.

I know there are people who just meet someone and they are instantly smitten and jump in head-first being committed from day one, but that's not the usual norm for most people. As well, since you just got out of a long-term relationship a few months ago, I'd take this one slow.

But yeah, I wouldn't assume anything until you have the actual 'relationship talk'. I've known a lot of girls that thought they were in relationships because they were dating/having sex with a guy, and were shocked later to find out that the guy wasn't that serious about them and/or had other girls on the go at the same time.
Lurker
0 likes